Grumpy Old Man

By Maurice1948

Sopping in Wapping

Not a very promising day - dull and windy. I took the train to Wimbledon, then the Tube to Tower Hill. The area around the Tower of London and Tower Bridge was mobbed in spite of the dull weather, a ferocious wind and a touch of rain in the air.

Once beyond Tower Bridge however the crowds thinned and I popped into the Darwin Inn for a coffee. It took a while to find the continuation of the Thames Path and I made several false starts before setting off eastwards. By this time it was raining lightly and my leg was aching - I began to regret coming this way! I carried on however, walking through a couple of small gardens - my extra is a sculpture in the Hermitage Riverside Memorial Garden - and a graveyard and getting a good view back to Tower Bridge and the Shard, my Blip today.

Eventually I gave up and made my way back to Wapping Overground, taking the train to Liverpool Street and thence to St James's Park where I had a wander for a while before returning by Tube to Embankment and finally Waterloo where I phoned my friend who agreed to pick me up at Hampton Court station.

We had a lovely evening - a good dinner and plenty of happy  conversation. My friend drove me back to my sister's - just one more day to go!

Quote of the day: 'London is a city that never sleeps, where there’s always something new and exciting happening around every corner.' – Richard Branson.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.