Grumpy Old Man

By Maurice1948

Do (not) come in

Rather a dull start to the day. My brother and I set off soon after 9am to explore a few places in Surrey. We found our way to Hatchlands Park, an NT property where we had a coffee and a look round the gardens.

Next stop was a lovely old church in the village of Shackleford - a sign in the porch said 'Welcome, please come in', and another said 'Open daily from 11am to 5pm'. The door was locked. I wrote a note and pinned it to the 'Welcome' sign - my Blip today!

Next stop was the Stag Inn, beside the River Wey in Lower Eashing, where we enjoyed lunch. Then it was off to a wonderful farm shop - Secretts at Milford - and then as the rain seemed to have no intention of disappearing we set off back to my brother's house Hampton. Dinner and lots of chat, then back to my sister's for my last night. Back to Scotland tomorrow.

Quote of the Day: ' It is unthinkable to have a British countryside that doesn't have actual functioning farmers riding tractors, cows in fields, things like that.' - Bill Bryson.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.