Grammy

By Grammy

Creeping Moss Phlox

We had another gorgeous Spring day. If only it didn’t come with so much pollen. I fed the birds and gave them clean water. After breakfast, I got caught up looking for files on my laptop. Could not remember the name of my travel prep spreadsheet. While looking for it though, I found a file with full names and birthdates of my parents’ descendants. Sure wish I’d had that a month ago while working on genealogy. After giving up on the other file, I looked for recipes of breakfast treats I’ll make tomorrow for our time in WV. The file name flashed in my mind and I found/printed it, this time with the file name as the report heading. Hubby also had a few computer tasks to do. After lunch, we went outside to take care of a few jobs before we leave. Hubby put up the cleaned bird feeder in the formal garden. My creeping phlox is at its peak. I was hoping to blip the yellow swallowtail butterfly but it disappeared before I brought my phone camera outside. He got rid of three tent caterpillar nests. Once they hatch, they defoliate the host tree. The nests were in my weeping cherry tree; they had to go. He dug up the volunteer fall asters next to the inside and outside walls of the raised vegetable garden. He also dug up two invasive saplings by the garage. I cleaned the two flower gardens in front of the sheds. Also weeded the garage garden. Weeds seem to take over in a day if you don’t stay ahead of them. Lauren brought us a few gifts. One may appear as a blip on our first 2024 camping trip. We have one more “to go” meal from Olive Garden so again, no cooking tonight. We earned an evening break with today’s activities. Hope your day was productive. Stay safe. Thanks for your visit. “Ring-ting! I wish I were a primrose, A bright yellow primrose blowing in the spring! The stooping boughs above me, The wandering bee to love me, The fern and moss (phlox) to creep across, And the elm-tree for our king!” - William Allingham

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.