JennyOwen

By JennyOwen

And it's Eid

The sleeper arriver in Marseille just before 7 a.m. and the train connections on to Arles went smoothly. Stepping off the train in Arles, I picked up a quick breakfast in the station cafe. Station platforms and waiting rooms have gradually filled up with travellers in their best clothes today, on journeys to Eid celebrations.
Then I left my suitcase in the nearby Left Luggage place and spent a happy morning exploring the winding streets and the stunning Roman amphitheatre: intact and still in use. With limited time to spare, I'd decided to make that my choice from the many wonderful options available (glimpse in the extra).
The planned short afternoon train journey on to Nimes got more complicated when a power failure stopped all local trains. But fortunately a local bus was available, so I took that. Then a bit of detective work was needed in Nimes to find the right stop for the onward bus to Le Grau du Roi, on the coast. There was a long line of bus ranks outside the station, but no source of info about which one left from where. I soon noticed other passengers asking each other for help, joined in and found the right place.
My Airbnb host very kindly picked me up at the bus stop - I hadn't expected that, and was really grateful.
A good day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.