JennyOwen

By JennyOwen

Walking around

Thanks for all the nice comments, hearts and stars for yesterday's Eid photo. I've got intermittent internet access so will catch up properly when I can.
I got up early and walked from the Airbnb to the centre of Le Grau du Roi. I'd been staying near the huge marina, in an area of modern houses and graceful but rather soulless seaside apartment blocks. I wanted to explore the older parts of town, including the fishing port.
It was a real treat to walk in the sunshine. I'm not here for the sunbathing, in the usual sense. But it really does feel like bathing in sunlight, after all the dark, wet months we've had at home.
There was plenty to enjoy around the old streets and the harbour. I'd found the very useful "Nanny Bag" app online, which lists shops or other businesses that offer a left luggage facility. I left my heavy wheeled bag at the wonderfully-named "Palace of Cheese", only wishing I could take some of its appetising products home with me. Then I went for a wander - what a luxury.
Later I retrieved the bag and found my way back to the bus stop by the station. The fabulous Camargue horses sculpture in today's image stands right in front of the station. It was a quick 20 minute bus ride to the village inn in St Laurent d'Aigouze - this will be the base for the photography workshop that starts tomorrow.
Travel has changed in some ways, since I last did a solo trip like this. The maps app on the phone makes navigation very easy, and bus stops and timetables are instantly accessible. I'm enjoying being without the car; a step away from my usual over- dependence on it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.