This is the day

By wrencottage

Queen Anne's Lace

Today really felt almost like the beginning of summer, and it was wonderful to sit outside in the garden with Smithers at coffee time for the first time this year and enjoy the sunshine. The air was perfumed with the scent of blossom and the birds were serenading us, lifting our spirits. 

It’s been another very productive day, starting with a triumph first thing when I did a repeat of yesterday’s investigations into the depths of the dishwasher and, this time, came up trumps. There was a tiny piece of white china lodged beside a large stainless steel ball bearing in the non-return valve, almost invisible against the white plastic of the valve. It didn’t dislodge when I rinsed the valve through yesterday, so I’m glad I had another go today. This little piece of china had obviously jammed the ball bearing, which is why the dishwasher didn’t empty the first time, and that was what was making the crackling noise.

Fresh from my triumph as a dishwasher engineer, I then walked up to the Atrium and filled the card stand with the fresh stock I’ve made for when it re-opens on Monday, after which I made a couple of lemon cakes and a double batch of Nutty Joys. 

The baking was an unplanned activity, necessitated by a request from The Traveller this morning, who informed me he was going to visit an old school friend this evening and would like to take a lemon cake and/or some Nutty Joys to give to him. This friend has fond memories of eating those at our house when the boys were at school together, and I haven’t stopped supplying him occasionally with them ever since. (They’re both now 38!) Smithers was delighted that I made sufficient for us all to have supplies, and has resumed his Mole impression "Will there be cake?" at every opportunity.

Oh, and my photo of Queen Anne’s Lace with green alkanet in the background was taken on our walk this afternoon near the copse in Harts Grove. I just adore Queen Anne’s Lace and so enjoy it when it comes back into flower each year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.