lovingSutton

By amandoAlentejo

This is Happiness

This morning I finished reading This is Happiness, by Niall Williams, a gift from our son's m-i-l (and a Blipper). What an absolute gem of a book - humorous, moving and wise in equal measures. And now I want to visit the west coast of Ireland...

Last night, I read the bit which gives the book its title. Noe, the narrator, is surprised that Christy, an older man is not more down about his lack of success with the woman he loves, and asks why.

   'Noe,' he said, and took a theatrical breath, 'this, is happiness.' ... It was a condensed explanation, but I came to understand him to mean you could stop at, not all, but most of the moments of your life, stop for one heartbeat and, no matter what the state of your head or heart, say 'This is happiness, because of the simple truth that you were alive to say it.
   I think of that often. We can all pause right here, raise our heads, take a breath and accept that This is happiness...

I turned to my sleeping husband, felt the warm comfort of our bed, the silence of the "pinholed heaven" outside my window, and thought, yes, This is happiness.

And again, at our impromptu picnic by Vinhas Lake.

Gratefuls:
- the beautiful salmon colour and complex flavours of the chilled rosé we had with our tuna sandwiches
- our family working together to create a bit of order in the garden of our house in England
- Mike strimming loads, looked so good in the low sunlight

I propose a toast, recommended by Deb

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.