Fotomatikus

By hazelh

Blue Peter badge

When I was at the gym this morning, the jeweller rang to tell me that the two items that I took in for repair on 2nd April were ready for collection. So, after lunch, Mr hazelh and I walked up to town to pick up them up. 

On our return home, I decided that it would be fun to go through my jewellery boxes with Mummy hazelh, especially since some the items that are now mine once belonged to her, her mother, and her grandmother. She recognised a couple, but not as many as I had hoped. Nevertheless she enjoyed the activity and all my precious 'jewels' are now neatly stored again.

I say 'jewels' because some of the items are really just mementos of very little value, including my Blue Peter badge. This was awarded to me for a letter that I sent to the programme on the importance of keeping unvaccinated puppies off the streets. The strange thing, however, is that I found two Blue Peter badges in my jewellery collection. They can't both be mine. I know this because the second time that I wrote to the programme - in 1977 to suggest that they should celebrate its 20 year anniversary in 1978 - I received a response that read along the lines of 'Since you already have a Blue Peter badge, we are sending you some photographs of the presenters and the pets'. I wonder if the second one belongs to one of my sisters and has somehow accidentally ended up in my flat as part of the parental house clearing effort?

Also today I had two exciting street encounters. The first was in Stockbridge with Peter C from work. He was enjoying the last day of his Easter annual leave by taking a trip to town on his own while his children were with their grandmother, and his wife at work. As we walked past the Lannan bakery window we saw some huge pains au chocolat. We could not resist a purchase, but when we reached the counter we were told these items were not yet for sale: they were tomorrow's goods. What a disappointment! This also came as a bit of a shock. I would have expected that a shop like this would bake and sell goods fresh on the same day. 

The second encounter was at the end of my street with Ali and Pat from my gym. I had seen them earlier in the day at my pilates class, but this was the first time that they had set eyes on Mr hazelh and he on them. I am so happy that they have all now met in person.

Exercise today: 1 hour on the exercise bike; pilates class; swim (30 lengths); walking (19,074 steps).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.