The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Treasure!

I bought these lovely glass pebbles to sit in a goldfish-bowl shaped jar that I found while cleaning my study. The sun will shine through them on the windowsill, I like to think. Possibly not today.

They remind me of something, but I cannot put my finger on it. Boiled sweets in a jar at the newsagent's? My grandmother's button box? I am struggling to remember, but it eludes me. Something to do with being allowed to play with some special 'treasures' while visiting older relatives. Possibly it's a false memory implanted by reading too many memoirs.

The desk is still looking good, and has a TV on it, so I can watch important programmes such as Pointless. Apart from during Wimbledon, when it's not boroadcast. I bumped into a friend yesterday and she asked me to join a team at a 'business quiz' tomorrow night. It's a charity fundraiser, and we get pizza too! I may be the only person there not wearing a suit, but presumably I haven't been asked for my wardrobe skills.

We've moved an unwanted table downstairs, so I can now close the study door, as well as putting my feet on the desk; watching TV; filing (!) and much, much more. There's still stuff to be done, but I am fairly relaxed about it now and only do a bit at a time.

School sports day tomorrow. I'm with Team Purple, who are I believe highly competitive, and who won the cup last year ... no pressure there, then! I disgraced myself today at wheelchair dance practice. Definitely in the B team, but I was not alone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.