Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

A sunny day in Guildford

We had a lovely dinner at Luke and Meriel's home last night, they made a delicious dal with home made naan breads including a gluten free one for me. As a pre-dinner drink Luke made us espresso martinis, I have never had one before but he has just invested in a new coffee machine and wanted to show us how it works. I say invested, as this machine is unlike one I have ever seen before whereby you can adjust everything including the pressure, and it cost a small fortune!

Today was a beautiful sunny day, it reached 21C and we were able to go out without jackets for the first time. We went back to the woods where the bluebells are as I wanted Gavin to see them, and of course by the time I got home I was sneezing and had itchy eyes and an itchy nose. I think bluebells are the worst plant for my hay fever.

After our walk we went to Guildford as I wanted to see the Surrey Photographic Association exhibition. It opened last weekend and I know that they are displaying images in two different showings, my images are only on display from the 17th yet I have received messages from various people saying they had seen my images on display so I wanted to go see what the situation was. I realised they have one room of the award winning images that are on display for the entire duration of the exhibition and I have a few images there, but the rest of my images will only be hung on the 17th.

This is the high street in Guildford, it was good to see the town bustling and the shops busy. There was a protest that walked up and down the short high street by pro-Palestinian supporters, I don't always understand why people protest as in this case there were only people about who were shopping and enjoying their Saturday morning in this market town and there was no one of significance who can effect any changes to the war situation in Gaza. 

I have nearly finished my photo book of Namibia, I will add text titles and check it on Monday, then send it off to be printed.

Now I must start supper as Adam and Anna are about to arrive, they have been in London today at the coffee festival.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.