Rebuilding

By RadioGirl

Giant Peonies

Today I gritted my teeth and read through the 47-page “Client Care Pack” from my conveyancing solicitor, then filled in three of the six forms they’ve sent, printed a copy of my latest bank statement, photocopied the completed forms for my own records, and wrote and printed a covering letter. It’s amazing how much time all this sort of thing takes, especially as I’m quite fussy about double-checking everything very carefully. I shall drop it all into their office by hand on Monday morning, as I really don’t want to send all the personal details contained in the forms via the post or in an email. Apparently, conveyancing is a huge target for fraudsters these days because of the large sums of money involved in transactions. It’s all so different to the last time I bought and sold three decades ago. I’ve been advised never to do any online transactions on a Friday, and especially not before a bank holiday, as this gives fraudsters several days to move the money between accounts which makes it impossible to track it, since you can’t speak to anyone over the weekend to report it. What a world it is now, that we have to take so many precautions!

After all that hated paperwork, I went for a walk in the afternoon. I was thrilled to see that some of my giant peony buds (Paeonia suffruticosa ‘Kintajio‘) have bloomed and are in their absolute prime, so there was no question about what my blip image would be for today! There are a few more buds to go, but the more that come out the more the whole thing sags under their weight. In a week or so’s time its burst of activity will all be over, so I must savour and enjoy the exquisite flowers while they last.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.