Rebuilding

By RadioGirl

Sunday Sunset

It was the bi-monthly Café Church this morning. There’s no communion, and it’s held in the extension hall instead of in the church itself. Pastries, croissants, tea and coffee are provided and it’s a very simple service. The main focus is on informal discussions around each table about subjects related to the Christian faith. Each table also contributes a line or two to the prayers, there are sometimes things to make, and songs are sung. It’s always enjoyable. I took a couple of pastries away today for tomorrow’s breakfast, to save them going to waste.

I’m now in Bucks, and after getting some printer ink refills from the local Argos (I’m expecting to do quite a lot of printing and copying over the next few months of property conveyancing), I popped over the road to see my neighbours Rosemary and Geoff. They own the flat below mine and rent it out, and they’re also the company secretary and treasurer of our residents’ association. We went through the endless questions on the forms my solicitor sent, and I warned them to expect to be contacted themselves for details about the maintenance of the flats etc. After ploughing through it all, we wondered what on earth conveyancing solicitors do for their fees, since we are already providing a huge amount of information without the solicitor having to do any research themselves! Anyway, I’m really grateful to them both for all their help. We have been neighbours for 28 years, and I shall miss them and all my other lovely neighbours. Geoff thinks their son might be interested in having my old StreetKa to tinker with, which is languishing in the garage here, immobile but pretty easily fixable. He’ll have a look at it next weekend.

I will also miss the sunsets along the valley that I can see from the windows. Here’s this evening’s, not as spectacular as some have been over the years, but still beautiful.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.