Maureen6002

By maureen6002

Children of the nuclear age

My fascination for dying tulips is matched by that of watching them come to life. I’ve already blipped the first of this year’s new tulip varieties. The advance party of huge peachy pink goblets has now been joined by others - probably blip features over the next week or so as they come into their own. 

But today it’s the ragged buds of the parrot tulips that make it to my journal. Seemingly an alien life form, strange mutated shapes and colours, ‘children of the nuclear age, mutated beyond recognition by radiation.’ 

More of the story can be found in the link below - posted by a blip friend last week (so sorry I can’t credit you as I can’t find the original blip!) 

I’ve cropped the bud and changed the orientation to emphasise its strange and slightly phallic structure - and its beauty; there’s an image of the complete bud in extras. 

https://eu.desertsun.com/story/life/home-garden/maureen-gilmer/2019/04/27/twisted-mutated-history-beautiful-tulip/3489404002/

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.