Bom

By Bom

Spring on the Heath

It was a beautiful morning for my walk with G on Kelling Heath and over to Weybourne station and back. It was a lovely 14C with blue skies and lots of sun on our faces. The birds were singing and the butterflies were out and we saw our first damselflies of the year. G got a drink at Weybourne and treated me to my first Ronaldo's ice cream tub of the year (Gooseberry). We saw the new visiting steam engine, but I couldn't get a photo as I had my long lens on. My favourite photo is of my first orange-tip butterfly this year, they don't stay still for long so I was happy to get the photo. Also in the collage are damselflies, cuckooflower, bluebells, tulips at the station, an impressive fungus and a speckled wood butterfly. We also saw tadpoles in the pond, quite late this year, and had a chat with a nice chap who's job included checking on the wildlife on the heath - he pointed out the damselflies and cuckooflower to us and said he'd seen a few adders. This afternoon I edited my photos whilst catching up with some programmes. I presume it was the female bluetit I saw yesterday evening spending the night in the nest and sitting in the bowl, I can't see any eggs yet though. I wonder if this is her first nest as she's put the bowl in a corner, which will be interesting if she does have chicks. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.