talloplanic views

By Arell

Bodging

After a long, late chat with lovely BikerBabe last night I had a long lie in this morning and was really very lazy about the whole thing.  But eventually tasks required my time, so I set about part two of fitting the mudguards again to my recumbent touring bike that I think looks better without – but it's been so rainy on and off for so long that I'd dared not take the bike out at all, and that was a crime.  I say fitting but really it was re-fitting the back one and modifying the front one to fit because the bike now has a single-sided 'fork' and therefore only one side to fit the mudguard stays.  I made a bracket yesterday out of a piece of steel ruler, and had to cut some machine screws today in lieu of proper (nice) cap screws.  It all came good in the end though.

After dealing with another headache it was time to study the ST1300 Haynes Manual and get a feel for how to dismantle and remantle the fork tubes.  It seems straightforward, but will no doubt take me twice as long the first time as next time.

And that was the day, really, except my hairdryer broke again, the one I glued back together mere days before holiday.  I seem to have a tremendous habit of wearing things out.  Now I have to find my epoxy, because the Loctite 60-second glue I used before sure as heck didn't work.

Tea was sweet and sour veggie tikka masala.  Really.  It sounds wrong but it's very right!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.