talloplanic views

By Arell

It's a sign!

An early start and a long commute across town to another office for a team training day, and a lot of traipsing around the place when I found we were all hotdesking in different parts of the building.

It was therefore also a long commute home, into the wind and uphill, and I was only nearly crashed into twice by drivers not looking.  In the Meadows I spotted that the Sustrans fingerpost had been repainted from its usual dreary black into bright purple, pink, white and blue by an outfit called Impact Arts, of whom I knew not.  But I find they are a charity that uses art and engagement to help people with employability, mental health, education, and social rehabilitation.

I never noticed before that the fingerpost says, of all things, "Newcastle 200 miles", that-a-way.  I wonder how many people have found themselves in the middle of the Meadows and on their way to Newcastle, and needing to know how much further it is to cycle along National Cycle Network route no.1?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.