TheOttawacker

By TheOttawacker

Rain, then parcel arrival stops work at 1

I think I mentioned before how I manage to avoid the exorbitant costs of postage from the UK – or at least mitigate them. A friend of mine lets me have all my Amazon and Ebay and book company parcels go to his place: then, for the price of a couple of pints every time I bump into him, he sends them all onto me every couple of months all smushed into a box. It reduces the bill dramatically – and minimizes the Canada Post ineptitude risk. Of course, I end up paying £70 odd for the parcel to be sent, but it still is better than £2.50 for a letter or whatever it costs. Having read about Mr Bates and the Post Office, I always like to screw them as much as possible.
 
Anyway, whenever a parcel comes, it is always a source of excitement – and surprise, as I can rarely remember what I have bought. Out comes books and football programmes, DVDs and records, the odd item of clothing… Today was no different, and I spent the whole afternoon going through the contents of the box and most definitely not working on the New Zealand stuff. Vive l’indépendance!
 
Friday dinner was Chinese takeout – and then we all settled in to watch The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society as our Friday movie. Other than that, it rained all day… Like being in England.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.