Out and About

By Puffin

St Oswald #2

Day 2. Mr P walked from Kirkwhelpington to Weldon Bridge on the River Coquet, 34km. 
 I visited an iron age hillfort with neolithic art above Rothbury and explored Rothbury.  I was supposed to be meeting Mr P for lunch in the car park at the hill fort but  he  was taking longer than expected;  very boggy underfoot across the moor above Rothbury,  so I left his flask, water and flapjack under an orange cone in the carpark. Luckily no one  moved it.  A quick visit to Cragside, the first house in the world to be powered by hydroelectricity.  I could not do it justice in the time I allocated to my visit, there are 40 miles of footpaths but I wanted to fit in a brief tour of the ruins  at  the 12C Brinkham Priory church because its not open tomorrow. 
The Blip is a view in the incredible rock gardens at Cragside. Extra is a collage of the rest 
PS, I've created a collage for yesterday as well. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.