My day

By 59

Mono Monday

John Edward has chosen texture this week (thanks Alan). I always like the texture of the tree’s bark around here. This is a young Chinese Elm tree lining the roadway. 

The big show was on until 6pm last night. The people and sideshows were half gone this morning and no sign of them this afternoon. They must be so organised to clear up in such a short time. Crazy big rides and Ferris Wheels, animals etc. ……closer to our place in the sportsground they are erecting seating for a big footy match on Saturday. The Rugby League teams are both from Sydney. Panthers and Tigers. They close the streets around here to make it safer for the pedestrians. We don’t follow this sport but it’s very popular. 

This morning I cleaned out the greenhouse. It isn’t a nice big one like many have but about 1 metre square and plastic. It is pretty good for overwintering geraniums but not really tender plants. It was very messy, full of dirty pots and leaves. Now I can transfer my pots over when they stop flowering for winter. 

You see some funny quotes at times. My favourite today was by Groucho Marx 
“I refuse to join any club that would have me as a member”. 

The news is full of the Iran/Israel conflict, the Bondi Junction (that is the shopping centre area up the hill from the famous beach) massacre and a high profile case where there was an alleged rape in Parliament House back in 2019. The judge read his verdict for 2 hours, no one came out looking pretty but the media and lawyers are having a field day. No I didn’t watch it but caught up with the key findings later. I don’t like sensationalism in the press. 

15th April must mean we are half way through autumn. Best season here, the weather is great day after day.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.