Looking for the beauty

By looking4beauty

Manchester marathon

We walked Kieran to the tram and then checked out of our apartment.  After meeting Matt, we headed to Deansgate to try and spot Kieran amongst the 32,000 running the marathon. We spotted him here (see extra) which was about 5 miles in, missed him at the next one but managed to spot him again in Altrincham which was about 15 miles in (pictured). I can't believe that he still looks so fresh! 
We had a cuppa and a cake before catching another tram to the end of the race at Old Trafford.  We couldn't believe how many people were squashing into the trams and when we got to Old Trafford, there were literally thousands of people everywhere! We were really disappointed as we thought we had missed him as we couldn't see a way to the finish line and it was too crowded to get past people.  Eventually, I spotted some people shooting off over a wall and followed them. This brought me out near the finish line. I waited patiently for about 10 minutes, unsure whether or not he'd finished as his tracker had stopped working and then spotted him! I caught his picture as he crossed the line (see extra) and was really worried about his colour.  As he's diabetic, he needs to really watch his levels and I thought he was going to collapse.  I managed to hug him and then he went to collect his t-shirt etc. It was chaos at the end and, I thought, badly organised as they all had to pass through the cricket club. It then took him a long time to reach us due to the crowds. He was freezing and in need of sugar. 
He completed his first marathon in just under 4 hours and was within the first 10,000 finishers which I think is fantastic.  Well done Kieran.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.