Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

In flight

It took me a while to get a decent, focused hummingbird in flight. This one is a broad-billed.

It was a busy day again up here but more enjoyable, which reassured me enough to extend my stay for a couple of days. The casitas were full over the weekend but most of them are checking out this morning. That means I have much of the day to chill peacefully where I "live."   It's very quiet. My only conversations were with the folks who work here. I know them and they know me. It's like walking into Cheers...”where everybody knows your name.". 

I had an interesting, long conversation with a woman from Maine. After a while, she told me that we could probably talk to each other forever but she needed to join her companion by the viewing area. I refer to the 'viewing area' or the 'wildlife area' every so often. It's a wild section of the forest (not enclosed) where the birds and other critters congregate. They do so as a result of the owner of the lodge providing hummingbird, seed and suet feeders filled to attract a nice variety of birds.
-------------------------------------

Silence is golden...
Unless you have children...
then silence is suspicious.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.