Look Out

By chrisf

Textures

Wild weather today. Hail, windy, and chilly. And this afternoon an interlude of sunshine.

I have cleared out a chest of drawers. I am finding this a really sad process, but I have to start somewhere. I am not rushing. A lot of the contents have gone to Oxfam in Swinton, where I also met a friend and former colleague for lunch. I’ve not met her for over four years. She now works nearly all the time from home.

The extra is one of the sets of photos on display in the windows of the former Poundland shop. Each set comprises two photographs. An original, and then a recreation of the scene in 2023. Local charity shops donated clothes to match those worn in the originals.

The main is a scene in Knutsford, I was there for my now regular foot treatment this afternoon. I had 20 minutes to spare so had a stroll, and noticed a blue sign. Offices now occupy part of what is called Marble Arch, an eighteenth century building which in the early 18th century was a coaching inn, the Mermaid. I can imagine horses being taken down these cobbles to be groomed and prepared for the next leg of their journey.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.