Look Out

By chrisf

The Sound of Spring

I am having a getting things done week on a number of fronts. The fact it’s been another wet day (lots more hail) has actually been helpful.

Late afternoon the weather cleared, and suddenly the prospect for the evening was a clear blue sky. I decided a break might do me good and had an early meal and then took myself off to Bartington and the River Weaver for an evening walk.

I took a few photographs - great crested grebes, a hovering kestrel, a stonechat on a wire, leaky locks, may blossom (a bit early), cuckoo pint, lady’s smock, the sun setting, the moon. But the one I’ve chosen is this little plain brown bird. The sound I am hearing everywhere at the moment is the repetitive call of the chiffchaff, one of the harbingers of Spring.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.