Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Bluebells

Last night we had some excellent entries in our annual mono print competition at the camera club. The judge was pleased to see so many entries of such a high standard, as he said that so many clubs he visits today have reduced their print competitions, preferring the easier digital images, which don't truly test a photographer as printing is the final step in the process of creating an image. It is difficult to see on the link but in print the images were wonderful with lovely tones and details.  The mono comp is not scored but we get placed and I was pleased to receive highly commended for both my images - the link is only of those images that were placed or got HC.

This morning I knew the weather was going to be unsettled, sunshine and rain, so after breakfast while it was still sunny I went to a nearby woods that have a good show of bluebells every year. I wanted to photograph them while they were still looking good as they have come so early this year that they won't be around for much longer. I had my usual dilemma of how best to photograph them, close up macro images, wide angle or compressed telephoto images? - I ended up doing all of that so I have various types of images to show off these little beauties.

I spent the rest of the morning getting my images in the right format to load up for our final print competition of the year, which is on Monday. Then I had to select all the images for our annual camera club exhibition. We enter six prints and six digital images and a judge selects three of each. It took time to load up the correct exhibition forms and images, but it's all done and ready for the deadline on Monday. As I already have images in two other exhibitions at the moment I had already earmarked which ones I wanted for this club exhibition so that I did not have to get more prints made, as printing is expensive.

When Meriel was unwell on the weekend I encouraged her to go to the doctor. She spent all of yesterday at A&E having blood tests, they have ruled out malaria but she was back at hospital again today having even more blood tests as they don't know what is wrong with her. I doubt she will be able to go back to Africa for work on Sunday.

I will watch the last episode of Ripley tonight - wow, it has been incredible!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.