Elegg

By Happyme

On the loose!

I went for a walk before breakfast this morning to make the most of the sunshine. It's tending not to last too long at the moment. It was a long long way from warm as the wind was bitter. The sky was a beautiful blue with just a few feathery clouds. 
As I walked along the track and turned a corner, I came face to face with one of our neighbour farmer's ewes. There was no chance it was going to let me walk by so it turned and trundled back down the track. I felt it knew where it was headed as it made no desperate attempts to get back into a field at any point, which it what they so often do. Further on down it disappeared into a field where there is a broken down old gate and fence so I guessed that's where it had come from. That is a field that Nigel uses for sheep so it obviously knew its way home. I carried on down the track and around the village to listen to the birdsong. I have a bird app to identify the songs and it recorded a Blue tit, chaffinch, goldfinch, wren, dunnock and sparrow in just 40seconds of recording. Just a bit further on I stopped to listen again and then there was a blackbird and willow warbler. Generally I can't spot the actual birds as there are a lot of trees and bushes for them to be amongst, but I love to here them and it always lifts the spirits. 
Later in the day I drove to Stanhope to visit the lovely lady in the wool shop to buy wool to knit another cardigan for myself. The last two I've knitted I wear a lot but I'm hoping they will be too warm for the summer?? Possibly not! I've chosen a pale sage green which I hope will go with most things.
While in Stanhope I met up with Kath and Marie for a coffee and a cheese scone in the Dales centre which was a nice interlude. 
The sun didn't last and the cold wind became stronger through the day so I'm glad I went out early.
Tomorrow I'm off to the Bowes museum http://https://thebowesmuseum.org.uk/ with two other friends so I'm looking forward to that. 
Hope others are seeing brighter, warmer weather that lasts for more than a couple of hours!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.