Wound up in Wexford

By Neatwithice

Above the fireplace

Another photo with a variety of stuff with memories.  

The painting came from my paternal grandparents.  It was passed on to me when we moved to Norfolk, as it is a Norfolk scene, with wherries.  It came with a note saying it might be a John Cotman - but I took it to a BBC Antiques Roadshow, and they were quite certain that wasn't true.  Sadly the frame has sustained some damage over the years - one of these days, I'll get round to getting it cleaned and repaired/restored.

The dolphin came from South Africa with W - just a rather nice piece of carving.  The pewter candlestick is another from W's father's collection.  

The sculpture at the far right is an original piece - I bought it many years ago.  I have the certificate tucked away "somewhere safe".  The piece next to it a lovely bit of wood with a glass bowl shaped to fit - bought for us by my daughter in Sweden.

And in the centre, a new clock.  Ideally, I would have liked an original antique/vintage clock, but decided that a modern reproduction with a battery driven movement was just simpler.  It does chime, and goes silent at night which is quite clever.  And we're playing with the volume, initially it was too loud and intrusive, when I turned it down I was overenthusiastic, and it stopped chiming at all!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.