Keith B

By keibr

A day of sun and COLD winds

I woke up this morning and opened the blind to find sunshine reflecting in, off the newly fallen snow. It was so bright and clear I had to get a picture. I opened the window as widely as I could and put the phone outside to get the clearest picture, and as I did so I touched the screen and the back camera started up. I thought it looked interesting so I clicked the picture!  Sometimes you get lucky!
One  extra shows the picture I was aiming for, taken from the upstairs window; the garden, the white snow, the blue sky.
The other 2 extras are my baking. I'll only leave them up a short while - pictures of newly baked bread are only of fleeting interest!!
I baked four loaves this morning, 2 typical sourdough loaves and two moist heavy loaves using a large quantity of sourdough discard. Both types were successful but the more typical loaves were probably the best I have ever made. I seem to be on a winning streak just now!
The knee continues to improve, recovering a lot more quickly than even I had hoped. I think I was very fortunate not to do more damage, and I am very thankful I could see Karin for a cranio-sacral treatment so soon afterwards, as I am sure that also helps the recovery process.
Towards the end of the day we got out some garden furniture (ever optimistic) and I cleared the rest of the snow from the deck.
In a flowerbed by the deck I saw that our Christmas rose (Helleborus niger) had flowered, as soon as the snow had melted away. We were given this flower by Rose a couple of years back, as a pot plant. When it had finished flowering I planted it as soon as the earth thawed out. Since then we've had two summers of greenery and I had given up on the idea that it may flower one day. Probably a future blip when the flower fully opens.
More sun tomorrow, but more cold northerly winds too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.