D77

By D77

The Watcher

It's more difficult than you think trying to capture something in the last few days in a country. Nothing of particular importance happened today so I drove to Shatti beach to see what would present itself.

Dotted around the car park at Shatti are car washers who will give your car a quickish clean using a dirty old cloth and brown water. At a garage, you get a proper machine wash and a couple of guys taking care of the polishing afterwards for one rial so you can understand my surprise when the car park guy demanded two. Bloody chancer; Omanis won't part with half a rial so he was just doing the usual ex-pat rip-off trick, obviously unaware I am somewhat of a veteran.

I tried to be nice and pleasant and not get irritated that I was being taken for a fool. He stuck to his guns however and just kept repeating "two rial, two rial, two rial". It's not about the money, I hope you understand, but more the principle of the thing. In the end, I just walked away and left him empty-handed with his pride and principles intact.




Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.