A day in the life

By Shelling

Mother

She, and another cow are separated from the herd, walking aroud on their own, by themselves, as if they are looking for something. I've been woken up during last week at any time by their loud, heartbreaking mooing, crying almost. It goes on in daytime too. I didn't understand why they went on like this, a calf has been born during this time, I thought maybe these two were sorry they didn't get one too. But then I talked to my landlord who sounded sad and he told me two calves had died at the same time some days ago and he didn't know why, so I asked him about the cows, yes, it was their calves. 
I've learned a lot  about the emotional life of cows by observing them since I moved here and I can certainly relate to some of what I see.

Temperatures are back at minus at night and only a few plus in the day, just now it snowed a little. In a few minutes I'm off to my friends place to have a sauna and some light dinner. I wish you a good weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.