Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Monsoon Sunset

I was already in (don't laugh) my boxer shorts and tee shirt for the night when I realized I needed something for first thing in the morning. So I threw baggy clothes on top of what I was wearing and drove to Walgreen's about a mile down the road.

As I came out of Walgreen's, I looked towards the sky and loudly proclaimed, "Holy shit! There's going to be a sunset!" to no one in particular.

Fortunately, I chose not to take the (illegal) shortcut out of the parking lot because there turned out to be a police car sitting at the corner. Shhh....I have been stopped but wept my way out of tickets twice taking that shortcut.

But upon seeing the coppers turning the other way, there was nothing to make me adhere to the 30 mph speed limit to get home to reach my camera as the sun sank in the distance.

I pulled into the garage, grabbing my wares and shooting into the house, being completely unimpeded because the house was left unlocked. I grabbed my camera, changed lenses in rapid-fire fashion and scooted down the block and around the corner.

Of course, I just missed the sunset *sigh* but I got this golden shot between the houses. By the time I got home and looked through my back door, the clouds over the mountains in the eastern sky had turned pink. I looked out the window towards the area I shot and the sky was pink there, too. But by the time I hustled myself down there into position again, everything had faded. *second sigh*

With all things sky...timing is everything. I hope you enjoy this shot. Remember, I was wearing my boxer shorts when I took it. Picture that in your mind.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.