Rebuilding

By RadioGirl

Farewell

Today I said goodbye to an old friend. My StreetKa, which I bought new in 2003 when I was living a different life which has long gone. I hadn’t driven her for seven years, and she had sat unloved in the gloom of my garage at the flat, gathering dust and cobwebs. She doesn’t go at the moment, and I was going to sell her for scrap. But my neighbour Geoff said that would be a shame as she is pretty and rust-free, and he told his friend Mark about her. Mark is clever with cars, and has paid me what I would have got for scrap. I’m so pleased that he’s going to bring the StreetKa back to life and make her shiny and gleaming again, and that he will have fun driving around with the lid off. And so today, she was pushed out of the garage to see daylight for the first time since 2017, and it was good to see her rolling along the road once more, albeit at the end of a tow rope.

Goodbye, old friend, God bless her and all who drive in her.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.