Look Out

By chrisf

Urban Gardening

Two new things today:
* A morning at the Royal Horticultural Society Urban Show at Depot Mayfield in Manchester. It’s their first Urban Show and very different to their other flower shows. The location opened in 1910 as a railway station, and the huge former warehouse is now a gritty space used for cultural activities. - raves, jazz festivals, nightclub, and now ….. horticulture. I think it’s a big experiment by the RHS but judging by the number of people there hopefully they’ll do it again. I really enjoyed it, and took loads of photos, lots of interest. The robot dogs - not gimmicks, they’ve got a very practical application in testing soils in the field - were fascinating. I’ve added one extra with an interesting “ vibe” - the urban forest.
“ my first journey on a train since 2019. The journey to Manchester was fine. The journey back was not. A broken down train (there were at least two breakdowns in different directions) led to chaos and cancellations. My welcome back to the north of England’s decrepit rail system. But I got back home eventually.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.