Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Peacock butterfly on Comfrey

..and I'm going to say this is Common Comfrey Symphytum officinale, though there is also Russian Comfrey, Rough Comfrey, Soft Comfrey and Tuberous Comfrey growing in the UK and I'm not expert enough to be able to differentiate.  The butterfly is clearly an overwintering one, eager to help provide the next generation before it disappears.

I haven't tagged this for WildFlowerWeek because there's not much of the comfrey to see, but can I remind those interested in the challenge that WFW24_03 finishes at midnight tonight and from tomorrow we roll over to WFW24_04.  Results for _03 will be in my journal midweek.

Lastly, thank you to all of you who kindly contributed your thoughts on Topaz yesterday.  Very helpful.  And I hope you're all having a great weekend..  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.