MsQuizzical

By MsQuizzical

Hunting

There's a piece of rough grass between our garden area and the farm. I've left a sinuous strip of it uncut as I love the cow parsley, I can see it from my kitchen window. Mishka and I walk round it every morning on the way back from getting the newspaper from the nursery gate. We're both hunting. This is where I saw my first holly blue of the season recently. This morning she got a scent of something. Serpentine bed keeps coming into my mind. My mother, who tended towards delusions of grandeur, had a big bed of that name in the old paddock at the family home. Serpentine is style of garden design associated with Lancelot 'Capability' Brown.

My yellow crab spider caught a fly for lunch and was tucking into it when the fly in my image got very close. I found another large red damselfly. As the weather was cold it was quite sluggish. It crawled onto my finger,  my hot blood warmed it and it took off. Quite a few different crane flies about.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.