Greenfinch, Green Man, Green Credentials

I was amused this morning to see a female mallard sitting on top of the northerly boiler house chimney. I photographed the cock greenfinch in a willow on the bank of the lake.

My daughter and I spent a pleasant time together playing cars.

On the way home I shot the sign of The Green Man in Mulberry Green for my personal coronation invitation challenge. I've read that there is a green man carved into the Quire Screen in Westminster Abbey where the coronation will take place. These foliate faces from British folklore are symbolic of spring and rebirth. A bridge between Pagan and Christian beliefs.

King Charles was an environmentalist before it became fashionable. In the seventies he was mocked for his beliefs about conservation, sustainability, organic farming, planting trees and tackling climate change.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.