SparseRunner

By SparseRunner

Today was quite a contrast to yesterday. It was raining when I woke, and it didn't stop until late afternoon. It's not bad weather for the Faroes, as the rain and wind were light. More due to my dislike of marking rather than tiredness from yesterday's outing, other than a few emails, it took me until mid-afternoon to start work.

At 18:00 I went into the centre of Klaksvík to watch Klaksvíkar Ítróttarfelag play B68 Toftir. Thus I got to see the Klaksvík team that played in the group stages of the Europa Conference League last autumn: quite an achievement for a town of 5000 people. The first match in the journey that took them there was the day A and I were in Klaksvík  last summer - they knocked out the Hungarian champions. In the group stages, they got four points, including a draw in the Faroes against Lille - who were unlucky to lose their quarter-final against Aston Villa. 

Toftir is a village of 1000 people, so it was unsurprising that the "big-city" club prevailed 3-0 in a robust and entertaining game. Not knowing the local conventions, I sat in the quiet end in the first half - witnessing two fine goals finished by Faroes international, Páll Klettskarð. However, in the second half I stood at the back behind the KÍ ultras: who chanted "Kao-Ay" to the beat of the three drummers. I chatted briefly with two young guys, and got a fist-pump from one when I said that United was my main team. One interesting feature of the match was that at half time the pitch was used for an informal kick-about by some of the youngsters.

The forecast is little better tomorrow, so I'll be marking again, with the promise that if I get "enough" done, I'll go away on Monday for a night or two. There's the dizzying forecast of sunshine and temperatures (just) into double-digits.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.