SparseRunner

By SparseRunner

Myrkjanoyrarfjall

Today I began with an hour's catch-up call with И, before I started trying to modify my code so I could cross-check with J that we both got the same answer, but it was messy. So, I concluded that they should modify their code so it fits mine and the normal theory.

Then, after lunch, and with the sky breaking as forecast, I set off for a hike. It was a good trail to a col at 430m, but then I had a dilemma. Do I try to climb one of the two adjacent summits? The lower one had a 20m rock step at the start that I didn't fancy taking on or trying to get around, particularly as I'd already seen iced-up rock, so I chose the higher one. It offered just the right level of challenge, so I was pleased to be able to reach the summit - of Myrkjanoyrarfjall (689m) - just 80 minutes walk from my apartment!

From the col, the route I'd taken earlier continued, contouring round the head of a valley, but then got unpleasantly rough - loose and bouldery on steep ground, with iced-up rock to avoid on the descent - so I was glad when I finally got down to the road on the other side. From there, I only had a 3km walk to the village where, after an hour's wait, I could get a bus back to Klaksvík. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.