madwill's world

By madwill

A Fancy Fly

Another bright sunny day…although slightly chilly in the northerly wind (again). I got out for a walk…a smidgen under 3 miles in 58 minutes (moving time)…so not far off my normal pace. It did take me well over an hour..but I did stop for lots of photos and a very long chat with a couple that I meet regularly!

The photo is a bit of a lucky accident as I forgot to pick up my glasses before I set off. I could see this rather fancy fly on a leaf…(there were several of them (flies) around)..so I just switched the camera into macro mode and pointed and hoped! Not the clearest shot in the world but it does show it rather nicely.

Google Lens tells me it is a celery fly or ‘hogweed picture-wing fly’! No it was on a dead-nettle leaf..but there were lots of hogweed leaves nearby..so I guess it made a mistake.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.