ayearinthelife

By ayearinthelife

Crossing a Bridge

My sister is running the London Marathon today so, in the spirit of solidarity, we went for a walk around Kendal! I haven’t been down this stretch of the old canal path for several months, and I’m pretty certain the sculpture at the side of the bridge wasn’t there last time. I think it’s meant to represent a barge with a couple of people on it. I looked up the bridge online, and this is what I found:-

“The Change Bridge, Kendal
Situated on the long disused section of the Lancaster Canal, this bridge allowed the Tow Horses to change from one side of the canal to the other [as the tow path changed sides] without unhitching from the barge they were towing. The horse track curving up to the bridge with no steps is clearly visible. This is the only bridge of its type in Cumbria, though there are others on the canal further south in Lancashire.”

I must confess that though I knew it was a change bridge, I didn’t know it was the only one in Cumbria. Further research suggested that it was necessary for the tow path to change sides as there were coal wharves up ahead, but I didn’t really see any evidence of where these might have been. Probably where the Electricity North West yard is now, would be my best guess.
A very pleasant walk, an excellent cup of coffee halfway round and I’ve learnt something new about my home town.
Exercise and education all in the same day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.