Delightful

By Serap

A number

We had to leave North Cyprus quite early today to get back to work, but had time for a leisurely breakfast, and a quick wander around the back streets of Girne/ Kyrenia, looking for a number to blip for HeartFreek's July Challenge. I really liked this old door, and the 2 conflicting door numbers on it. I met a sweet old man on my walk, who was originally from Limassol and who was amazed when I told him we lived quite near and visited often. His eyes watered and he told me how the beautiful harbour in Limassol reminded him of Izmir in Turkey... something he seemed very proud of. I'm sure Limassol will have changed beyond recognition in the 40 years since he left, and I did feel sad that he will, in all probability, never see the city again, as he spoke of it with such fondness. He was born there in 1932 and didn't look anything near his 81 years... his short sleeved shirt was beautifully pressed, his white hair neatly cut, combed and styled with pomade, and he smelled of the lovely lemon cologne that is used a lot in Turkey. I will look for him again the next time we are there.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.