Life is a Challenge!

By Honeycombebeach

GROWING OLD DISGRACEFULLY!

If I do one more thing in my life, it’s going to be this - I am going to “grow old disgracefully” - and it’s my choice.  I don’t have to have anyone’s permission - I can just do it and I’m sure I will enjoy it!

After all that has happened in my life - good and bad - I am convinced that we need to be “our own person” and not let anyone tell us what to do or to try fit us into a certain mould.

All my young life I was told I talked too much - and yes, as I have got older, I know this - I also write too much in my journals, but that’s me and if you don’t like what you see, or what you hear or what you read, then I’m sorry, but why should I have to conform to what the world wants or thinks I should be?  Besides which, all those who told me that in my early years, never bothered to find out why - and there was a good reason - living with a single mother, who had to work, I often chatted to all and sundry on my way home from school each day.

I believe that God gave me certain attributes and gifts - and we heard about that in our sermon at Church yesterday - thank you David - so why would I stifle those gifts and abilities?  Why not use them for God’s glory?

Perhaps all this is bit too deep for a rainy Monday morning, but I believe we should accept people for what they are and not try to change them to fit into what we think they should be.  The world would be a strange and even boring place if we were all the same.

Couldn’t resist photographing these beautiful tulips that I brought home from the Community Fridge a couple of weeks ago - in fact, a relatively new friend, Gill, said to me “Why don’t you take those tulips, Maureen - you love tulips and they’re your colour!”  So, I brought them home and have enjoyed them on my kitchen windowsill and I’m still enjoying them as they “grow old disgracefully” - and hope you enjoy them too in this triptych.

Shame about the weather today, as Mr. HCB wanted to finish hoeing and sorting out our long border and it’s now raining quite heavily - but he is happy to sit and read while I go and do some grocery shopping and I’m sure I will talk to lots of people as I do and maybe even give out some more hearts to encourage people!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.