Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Cuckoo flowers

It has been a manic day. I was up really early again, and was ready to receive the plumber and his assistant as they are here to fix a leak - it is coming from upstairs (the underfloor heating) through the ceiling in the kitchen. It has been there a while now, it started as a tiny mark on the ceiling but now that tiny mark has spread and it needs to get sorted. A pipe needed replacing so that has been bought and it will be installed tomorrow.

I went out to get groceries, and again Waitrose did not have fully stocked shelves - not sure what is going on with our local branch at the moment but everyone is complaining. I plan my week's meals and then have to adapt as I walk around the aisles and find I cannot get the ingredients I need.

It was a rush back home again with the groceries, I quickly unpacked them and then went back out again to Guildford. I had arranged weeks ago to go see the exhibition with some of my camera club colleagues, so when I could not see the exhibition yesterday due to the gallery being closed it did not matter so much as I knew I would be seeing it today. In fact by the end of the week I will have seen the exhibition four times as various friends wish to go see it with me!

It was great going through the exhibition, there is some fantastic work there. One of our camera club members who was with me is a judge - she actually trains judges - and it was interesting hearing her comments and critiques about some of the images. After seeing the exhibition we went for lunch to Megan's restaurant which was delicious. 

When I returned home I walked into a huge mess, there was a fine dust covering every surface of the kitchen and the floors from the dust of when they cut out the ceiling. They did clean up, but after they left I cleaned all over again as it still looked dirty. They will still be busy for the next 4-5 days so it will have to get cleaned every day.

I then spent the entire afternoon re-editing photos as I need to upload entries for our annual nature competition which is on Monday. However, our club has also qualified for the PAGB (Photographic Alliance of Great Britain) Inter Club competition held in Warwick later this year so we have been asked to submit images for our selection committee to choose from - I need to submit 10 images so that has been a big task and I still have not decided which ones to submit!

A cuckoo flower spotted on my walk with Xena today. There has not been time for much photography today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.