WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Vous êtes filmé

Sarah, now retired picture framer (and briefly a blipper), has a photo exhibition at the small gallery in Olonzac, so I went along to see it today. She has a real eye for a quirky image. The exhibition was dereliction-themed -- apparently one visitor said they were too dismal, and asked if she was a dismal person. "Not at all," she replied (true) and reflected that if you were a dismal person, perhaps the photos would be too depressing. She was a no-brainer for today's blip!

After a good chat with her and the gallery owner I dashed out to catch Olonzac market before they started packing up. It's now bigger and busier than Lézignan market, which is rather depressing. Some of the same stallholders come to both, but there are vastly more local producers in Olonzac, of cheese, vegetables, meat, as well as two fishmongers and stalls of crafts and clothing. That said a) it's quite a bit more expensive, and b) it's astonishing that the main language I heard customers speaking was English. There's always been a divide between north and south of Lézignan (the Minervois and the Corbières) in terms of incomers, but it seems to be increasing.

By the time I'd done that and battled my way through the ubiquitous roadworks and closed roads (everyone is doing it!), it was too late to do choir leaflet distribution in Lézignan on the way back, so I returned in the afternoon to do that. I was a bit surprised that the association in Lézignan that is hosting the concert didn't seem to have made much effort -- there was one poster, on the church door ( I suspect it was put there by Florence when she visited last week). Anyway, I distributed all of my flyers, so hopefully someone will turn up.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.