Grumpy Old Man

By Maurice1948

Autumn colour in the spring

Woke to the sun streaming down from a clear blue sky - again!  Now, at 5pm, some clouds have appeared low on the horizon, but it's still wonderful. 38 degrees in the sun, 24 degrees in the shade - but last night it dropped to 0.7 degrees! What's going on! 

This morning I decided to walk down to the town to further investigate the coloured-leaved trees I saw a few days ago. I mentioned this to a neighbour in passing - he clearly thought I was mad! I walked down a narrow path beside the cement works and found myself at the site of the trees, planted many years ago along the Black Lynn. Unfortunately they've had a few limbs chopped off, maybe to prevent them hanging over into the gas depot, and one or two have been felled. I walked along the fence side as far as I could, but then came to a thick mass of Japanese Knotweed along the banks of the Black Lynn, so I retraced my steps. A close-up picture of the foliage suggests that they're Black Poplar - I must look into it further. 

My Blip today shows the trees from the other side of the railway, behind the gas depot. My extra shows the trees from the side of the burn.

Quote of the Day: 'Time spent amongst trees is never wasted time.' 
Katrina Mayer

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.