Grumpy Old Man

By Maurice1948

A special flower

Sunshine right from the start today - wonderful! I sat outside at the front end of the house this morning - we don't get much sun on the deck until after lunch - and completed yesterday's crosswords. 
 
After lunch I relabelled the rhododendrons that I still have in pots - some of the labels have disappeared -  then relabelled those that I've planted on the slope below the house. I had to get the ladder out for some of these! In spite of being careful I still have two that I'm not sure about and can't tie up with my list! I'll pot up a few of them and plant them out when they're larger.
 
I've been having some correspondence with the Homebase Customer Service about the two ferns I've recently bought. It took a few emails and photographs to and from a lady called Harleen, but the result came today - they are Asplenium dimorphum x difforme 'Parvati' and Pteris quadriaurita 'Tricolor'. Now I can label them properly! Worth the effort!
 
My Blip today is of the beautiful double form of bloodroot, a small rhizomatous perennial from eastern North America - Sanguinaria canadensis  forma multiplex 'Plena'. I was given a clump of this gorgeous plant from Ardmaddy last year and it’s doing well.
 
Quote of the Day: ‘The very best relationship has a gardener and a flower. The gardener nurtures and the flower blooms. - Carole Radziwill.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.