A Church, a Cathedral and some plants

I caught the 8.21 from Hampton station and found my way from Waterloo to the Barbican by bus, where I arrived by 10am. I discovered that the Conservatory wasn't open to the public until 12 noon but was given a booking for that time. In the meantime I walked across to the ancient church of St Giles Without Cripplegate (see extra) and walked around in the rain for a while before going in to the last part of the Sunday service. It's quite thought-provoking to hear that people have been worshipping at this site for over 1,000 years!

I returned to the Conservatory at 12. It was pretty inpressive with a huge range of plants, but to my professional gardening eye was suffering from a lack of proper maintenence. I carried out a bit of surreptitious dead-leafing while I walked around, but the collection had a rather desiccated look and I thought needed some sprinklers above to damp the place down a bit, but then what do I know! I was told that they were short of staff.

When I came out I wandered down to St Paul's Cathedral and went inside, but no visitor tours were on as it was Sunday, and cameras were forbidden. I carried on down to the riverside and took pictures of the runners in the London Marathon before wending my way back to Waterloo and thence to Vauxhall. I had a look around the park which was previously the Vauxhall Pleasure Gardens before catching the train back to Hampton and the chance to rest my weary knees!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.