Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Looking through

Yesterday was upsetting,  but I slept well. I did not want to get up this morning, so I stayed in bed until 10.

Then I shook myself and decided to go to revisit the route of next week's Wildflower and Photography Walk. It was a dull, cool day and I needed gloves at the start in Wark.

The river was lower than it has been all year. I decided to cross to Gold Island. I must say that my gaiters did really well despite the depth of the water. It needs to be lower next week if we are to take paying walkers over, but it's wonderful when you see the island.

I was the only person there. The birdsong was charming. The wild flowers are coming on well and I think the bluebells will still be good next week.

I've been photographing using different techniques to demonstrate to the participants. Some are very straight, identification shots. This one is looking through other foliage to create a dreamy look.

There are marsh marigolds, wild garlic, stitchwort, bluebells, lesser celandine, ladies' smock, wood anemones, garlic mustard, all creating a carpet of delights.

I felt much better after the walk. My hip was a bit sore, but crossing a river bed twice was probably a bit much!!

I had a check up at the surgery this afternoon and met Margret on my way home. She came in for a cuppa and a chat.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.