suehutton

By suehutton

A trip in the Outwoods

I had promised myself a journey through the Outwoods on a Tramper, which is a large, heavy duty mobility scooter. You can order one from the Rangers, for free!

Today was the day, just right for viewing bluebells, EXCEPT, the tramper is not allowed to access the part of the woods where the bluebells are most splendid. 

Len abandoned me once we reached the charcoal burner and I thought I'd got stuck in some mud. I girded my loins, mentally, and gave the tramper some welly so that it rode over the wooden plank crossing a stream there and headed north. But there weren't any bluebells to be seen on either side of this path. Patches of bluebells were visible high up on the opposing ridge. Curses.

The young lady who gave me the induction to the tramper confirmed that woodland management this year will consist of de-brambling to allow more ground cover plants, such as bluebells, can push through.

On reaching Olivia's, coffee was only being served in paper cups and there was NOTHING available gluten free. l suggested we head into Loughborough where Len had to go to the bank and I could go to Caffè Nero to warm up.

Choir rehearsal at the church in Woodhouse Eaves this evening. All went reasonably well until we got to the piece by Wilbye. Oh dear. It was getting late and we were tired so we just have to wait until Saturday to find out if it is being pulled from the programme.

A robin came to sing to me as I was heading back up the path to the car park. (extra)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.