West Coaster

By WestCoaster

Mist Covered Mountains

I walked past one of my previous entries this afternoon La Pasionaria on the banks of the Clyde.

I have been thinking about the series of shots I wanted to do with lyrics and some of the songs I wanted to use and this prompted today's offering. La Pasionaria commemorates the Scots who went to fight in the Spanish Civil war and marks the spot where they embarked onto the ships that would take them from their homeland many never to return.

I wondered what they were feeling as their ships made way down the river passing through the industrial landscape both banks littered with working dock and ship yards, but soon that industrial landscape changed to the rural countryside of Renfrewshire and the hills on the north of the river and it is them that form tonights shot. I a sure many of those who sailed were excited by the prospect of adventure, thrilled to be leaving the oppression of Glasgow, many too I am sure, beneath the Bravado of the brave Scottish man would be scared of what they may encounter in a foreign land, like many who had gone to war before them from this green and pleasant land

I thought of the Dire Staits Lyric to Brothers in Arms, and how these Scots had answered a call to fight when they had not obligation to do so other than to help their fellow man fight oppresion. I hope you read thr lyric and reflect on theos men and women leaning on the rails of the ships as they passed these hills the beauty they saw a stark contrast to the horros that awaited them.

These mist covered mountains
Are a home now for me
But my home is the lowlands
And always will be
Some day you'll return to me
Your valleys and your farms
And you'll no longer burn
To be brothers in arms

Through these fields of destruction
Baptisms of fire
I've witnessed all your suffering
As the battle raged higher
And though they did hurt me so bad
In the fear and alarm
You did not desert me
My brothers in arms

There's so many different worlds
So many different suns
And we have just one world
But we live in different ones

Now the sun's gone to hell
And the moon's riding high
Let me bid you farewell
Every man has to die
But it's written in the starlight
And every line on your palm
We're fools to make war
On our brothers in arms



I love the river and love to shoot here its special to me and those I hold so dear , I hope you enjoy her beauty tonight and that my choice of lyric too enhances the atmosphere of the shot, best viewed in large

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.