West Coaster

By WestCoaster

Ship to Shore

I had shot some frames earlier in the afternoon of a second Andy Scott Sculpture, the partner of the one shot at Faifley a few weeks ago, I dint like the shots as there was a muckle great lorry in the background, I decided to go back this evening and re-shoot it but the wagon was still there, so a shot for another day.

The wind was up, billowing down the river and I thought of a lyric and knew a shot that I thought would fit. The lyric is about a ships crew calling for help as the weather rages about them, a signal to bring them home but if you read the lyrics the song, I feel is really a metaphor for love and friendship, saying that when you are in the raging storm, those friends who love you and who care are always there sending the positive energy, the beacon to see us safely through our troubles.

The shot tonight os a navigation tower on the North shore, that sned s the beacons, plots the position to keep the river traffic safe. Shot against the darkening sky a foreboding of the gale force winds forecast.

I feel we are all the personification of this beacon from time to time for those we love, standing tall in the eye of the storm sending the messages of love, hope and positivity. They Lyric was written by Chris De Burgh long before the commercial success.

Ship to shore, do you read me anymore,
This line is bad, and fading,
Ship to shore, answer my call,
Send me a signal, a beacon to bring me home;

I have been to see the world,
tasted life at every turn,
And all the time,
Your face came back to haunt me;
Day by day the feeling grew,
I know I'm still in love with you,
The further that I go,
The more I know it, I wanna show it,

Ship to shore, do you read me anymore,
This line is bad, and fading,
Ship to shore, answer my call,
Send me a signal, a beacon to bring me home;

Moving fast, all systems go,
You and I had time to grow,
Before there was a breakdown in transmission;
How I wish that we could turn,
The clock back to the days when,
We were lovers in the true sense,
Of the meaning, you must believe me,

Ship to shore, do you read me anymore,
This line is bad, I'm drowning,
Ship to shore, answer my call,
Send me a signal, a beacon to bring me home;
Ship to shore, ship to shore, ship to shore...

I cannot believe my eyes,
But I think I see a light;
You are everything I've always,
Wanted in my life;


I hope you enjoy the shot despite its bleakness and I hope you see the lyric as an impassioned call to be there for those we care about when they call and more so when they dont or cant call.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.